Cloud Agent Maintenance Announcement (2018-01-29 09:00 UTC)

Last updated: Fri Jan 26 04:26:07 GMT 2018

Our operations team will be performing rolling maintenance on our Cloud Agent infrastructure beginning on Monday, January 29th at 09:00 UTC.

This rolling maintenance window is expected to run for approximately 72 hours.  Regional timings for the maintenance can be found below:

2018-01-29 09:00 UTC to 2018-02-01 09:00 UTC
2018-01-29 04:00 EDT to 2018-02-01 04:00 EDT
2018-01-29 01:00 PDT to 2018-02-01 01:00 PDT

During this rolling maintenance window, our teams will be applying patches to, and performing restarts of elements of our Cloud Agent Infrastructure.

While we do not expect significant disruption during this period, customers may notice missed data points on tests running from Cloud Agents while they are being updated.  Our observations in a staging environment indicate a negligible performance impact - see below for charts showing equivalent systems operating against the same group of sites (Alexa Top 20 Sites):

Page Load timings for Alexa Top 20 sites
Page load timings for Alexa Top 20 sites comparing patched and unpatched servers

User-added image
HTTP Server timings for Alexa Top 20 sites comparing patched and unpatched servers

This critical update is necessary and cannot be postponed, as it relates to Spectre and Meltdown vulnerability mitigation on our cloud agent infrastructure.

If you have questions or comments related to this update, please contact our Customer Success team at support@thousandeyes.com